About MEP


The Model European Parliament (MEP) is a simulation of the European Parliament. It is a leadership programme for youths in the 27 EU member states and guest countries. It was set up in 1994 with a secretariat in The Hague, Netherlands, in the inspiring care of Anna and Leopold van Sminia. Since 2014, the MEP programme is coordinated by an innovating multi-national board with an association based in Vienna.

The aim of the MEP is to educate young people at upper secondary school level about European integration and cooperation, and to launch initiatives and develop skills in addressing high level international issues jointly among Europe’s decision makers of tomorrow. It unites the young adults of Europe to a greater understanding and a closer penetration of common European issues as well as knowledge about EU institutions. The programme raises political awareness and promotes comprehension of Europe’s diversity. It is, beyond doubt, a training ground for future leaders and politicians. The resolutions that pass are forwarded to the actual European Parliament to be taken into consideration for the voice of the youth to be heard.

MEP is also a cultural and social event, which gives the participants the opportunity to experience the diversity of the countries they visit, and be a part of numerous social events, such as teambuilding, sightseeing, and living with a family in the host country among others.

– The place for young EU parliamentarians

The place for new ideas

The place for the decision-makers of tomorrow

The place to be


MEP EU 27+ candidate countries

2 international sessions a year

Two EU 27+ International Sessions take place on a yearly basis in a different European capital and are undertaken by the national organisations of the programme. The working language in international sessions is English.

Five students are chosen to represent each EU member state, and together they comprise a delegation. Each delegate represents his/her native country in one of ten committees to discuss international issues which appear on the agenda of the European Parliament.

The committees are structured as follows: Committee on Foreign Affairs, Committee on Security & Defence, Committee on Employment & Social Affairs, Committee on Environment, Public Health & Food Safety, Committee on Industry, Research & Energy, Committee on Culture & Education, Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice & Home Affairs, Committee on Women’s Rights & Gender Equality among others.

The participating States are divided into two groups – Group A and Group B. Each group is assigned 5 committee issues to address with a resolution. The committees are coordinated by a Committee Chair and a Vice-Chair from different countries. The work in the committees is carried out by the young delegates, one from each participating country.

The common goal is to find consensus within a committee on the draft of a resolution that is presented to the General Assembly and vigorously defended in the hope of winning majority approval.

All activities take place in a week during which there are team building activities, an official opening ceremony, committee meetings to write the resolutions, a meeting to decide on amendments and textual changes, lobbying activities, and the General Assembly. A meeting of the delegations at the Embassy of their country in the capital of the organising state is also scheduled along with a cultural night event and a party at the end of the international session.

International sessions began in 1994 in the Kingdom of the Netherlands, with international sessions each year in capitals and cities such as Paris, Dublin, Copenhagen, Vienna, Tallinn, Vilnius, Berlin, Norwich, Oxford, Madrid, Nicosia, Skopje, Istanbul, Stockholm, Helsinki, Luxembourg, Budapest, Bonn, Maastricht, Rome, Naples, etc.


MEP Europe is organised into four Euro-regional sections (MEP Baltic Sea Region, MEP Western European Region, MEP Central and South-eastern European Region and the MEP Mediterranean Region) each headed by a regional coordinator.

MEP Europe is organised into four Euro-regional sections each headed by a regional coordinator:

  1. The MEP Baltic Sea Region consists of Estonia, Denmark, Iceland, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Norway, Russia and Sweden.
  2. The MEP Western European Region consists of Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland and the United Kingdom.
  3. The MEP Central and South-eastern European Region consists of Austria, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, N. Macedonia, Serbia, Bosnia and Kosovo.
  4. The MEP Mediterranean Region consists of Greece, Cyprus, Italy, Spain, Croatia, Malta, Portugal, Montenegro, Albania and Turkey.

The regional sessions are organised only once a calendar year in each of the above-mentioned regions and last five days.

As in the MEP BSR since 2004, Euro regional networking and annual sessions will follow in the other three regions of Europe, opening further opportunities for participation. An MEP Alumni branch will cater for the needs of former participants, offering a whole range of post-MEP activities and events.


One session a year

On a national level, the MEP encourages European activities, initiated by National Committees. In every country, national MEP organisations play a leading role, acting as hosts to an annual national event. As many schools and universities as possible, from different regions, with students from different social backgrounds are invited to join this European project. The National Committees promote the development of the European dimension in new establishments as well as ensure the continuation of European activities at schools and universities that have been participating in the MEP already.

If you still want to know more, you can visit the website of MEP Europe

MEP - Paris/Strasbourg